In order to stay up to speed on the newest news, free browsing, movies updates, and money-making tips, join the SMARTTECHVILLAS WhatsApp and Telegram channels!. Click Here To Join Now!

Connect with us

News

Twitter is Working On A Feature To Enable Users “Unmention” Themselves from Tweets

Twitter new “Unmention” festure will lets you untag yourself from a discussion tweet

Philip Aladino

Published

on

ADBLOCK

In order to stay up to speed on the newest news, free browsing, movies updates, and money-making tips, join the SMARTTECHVILLAS WhatsApp and Telegram channels!. Click Here To Join Now!

twitter
Twitter illustration by Philip Dino | (Smarttechvillas)

Keynotes

  • Twitter is developing a new “unmentioning” function in an effort to offer users more control over their visibility in debates.
  • A limited number of individuals can use it at the moment, but it looks to be an effective tool for removing ambiguous references.
  • Twitter is doing an experiment dubbed “Unmentioning” in an effort to assist users protect their privacy and remove themselves from the discourse at large.
  • The “leave this conversation” button may be found in the menu that appears when a tweet is clicked.
  • 5Twitter researcher and reverse engineer Jane Manchun Wong appears to have taken a snapshot of the “leave this conversation” function in a tweet dated February.

In an effort to give users more control over their presence in discussions, Twitter is testing a new “unmentioning” tool. For the time being, it’s only available to a select group of users and only on the online version, but it appears to be an excellent tool for clearing up errant mentions.  

An experiment called “Unmentioning” is being conducted by Twitter in an effort to help users preserve their privacy and remove themselves from conversations.

The Twitter Safety account of the corporation has a brief GIF showing how the functionality would look.   Web users of Twitter will see the “leave this discussion” button in the menu that pops out of a tweet.

(It also has the “mute” and “embed” options.) Another menu appears when you choose the “leave this discussion” option, which explains what happens when you leave a conversation: your username is untagged, all future references to that topic will be halted, and, probably most significantly, alerts will be turned off.  

The “leave this discussion” function seemed to be screenshotted by Twitter researcher and reverse engineer Jane Manchun Wong in a tweet from February. Her sleuthing paid off, as is frequently the case.

Even for individuals who have been harassed on Twitter, the option to leave a conversation that has turned unpleasant, dull, or simply not your cup of tea in the first place is a welcome addition to the network. When you’re done, you don’t have to make a big deal out of it.

Advertisements
Advertisement          

Recent Posts

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement